Hope in a time of trouble…

Posted: February 12, 2009 in Thankful, Thought for the Day, What's up

I really don’t know how to start this post. Lately, it is so common to hear people in a panic and strain in where they are going to go now? My heart just aches these days for those who are losing their jobs and are gripping on to their last piece of sanity to go out and find something else due to the fact their jobs have just let them go. There are people who are seeing cut backs in their salaries and don’t know how they are going to make it from here.

I was at the Hospital the other day, waiting for a ‘mammogram!’ Yes, 32 years old and getting ready for my first mammogram! I discovered a ‘lump’ about 3 weeks ago with a rash and it alerted quite a few to encourage me to have it checked out. Funny thing was, I didn’t stress or really even give it a second thought. The Lord saw me through all of it and the reports came back clear. But, as I was waiting, I overheard a nurse talking to a Doctor asking for advice on what to do for her Husband. He had lost his job after 13 years with Walmart and she was in a panic as of where their family was going to go now? Sitting there, knowing that this now is a common to hear when you go out into public, I started praying for them. (little did I know, I would get home that night to find out that 700-800 employees had been laid off) The economy is in such a horrible state and these words are going to be more common to hear anymore than not.

My heart has been so heavy lately for families that are losing their jobs or taking cut backs in their salaries. People who are trying to sell their homes, in hopes to get more stabilized in today’s economic times, but their homes aren’t selling. What advice can you give?

About 9 years ago, Jason and I decided to make the sacrifice of me staying home and raising our Children. It was a sacrifice we were willing to make to have Our Children raised in a Godly home and raised with values from us, not somebody else’s. At first, it wasn’t a sacrifice to make this decision! I was excited about it. As time went on, we start finding out that in today’s time (9 yrs ago) Our economy just isn’t set up for a family to comfortably live off of a single family income. Things that we had the luxury of doing and having had to be sacrificed. We would watch other families without Children or with two incomes raising Children, enjoy all the things we used to enjoy. While they were out doing something as small as buying fast food, Jason and I were on our way home to make some form of dinner. While everyone was asking if we had seen the latest movie at the movie theater, we would answer them with, “We will just wait for it to come on DVD or TV.” I am not trying to play the martyr with all of this, I am using this to let you know how it never defeated Jason and I. Alot of people are moving to this type of situation, in today’s generation to move backwards in success is failure to most. I don’t see it that way. This is why,

My hope is in God. He is My strength and the light in this family. He is always working and he is always with us. Being human though, You tend to question things that happen and that begins the loss of faith in a GREAT GOD! I have purposed in my heart these days, when I feel the questioning coming on, I look to see How my God is truly working. Through the good and the Bad, whether we are in is will or not, God is going to receive GLORY. I want to be in His will when he receives the Glory, because “I WANT TO SEE IT!!!!” I encourage those of You who don’t have Christ as your Savior and are running with no ‘hope in Him’ to ask him to be Your Savior, so that You can experience the Peace that passes all understanding when You feel that all hope is lost. The Power of a Great God working in times that You feel, “nothing is left” to be worked! If You are a Child of God and are in a time of trouble, I pray that You don’t question God, but look to him for comfort! Don’t ask, “Where is God when I need him or Why is He not answering My prayer?” Know in Your Heart that Your God is right in front of You working, it may just be a time to wait so that he can receive MORE GLORY for when he sees You through. Sometimes, it is hard…we are impatient and we are human. It is in Our nature to want to know what, when, where and most of all WHY???? I ask You to purpose in Your heart, as a child of God….to not ask or question, but to Pray. We are in a great Bible study at Church on Prayer. Pastor Brandon has been teaching us some wonderful things about this. I ask You to Check out his Blog, for what God has been laying on his heart during these times.

My Favorite thing to do, when God is working and we ‘have to wait’ is to go into the Psalms! A new thing I learned about the Psalms is that the Psalmist wrote each particular Psalm to real life events that he was going through. I was educated on Psalm 34 Yesterday. In order to truly understand where David was coming from when he wrote this Psalm, You have to understand the History of what happened to lead him to write it. For this particular Psalm, It is found in 1 Samuel 21 and the first verse of Chapter 22. David had just slain the Giant. He was coming off of a VICTORY. Saul he is jealous and David is now feeling he has to run for his life. Put this into perspective…”David has just slain a 9′ Giant and his faith in God with it, allowed a Sling Shot to be enough! Why? Because of David’s Faith in God and because GOD was fighting that battle for him. Then directly after, he is now RUNNING FROM a 7′ King for his life. WHY IS HE RUNNING??? Because he is alone. Where is his faith? He had just slain the Giant and a sling shot was enough. Now he is asking a Priest for Swords and Shield to help him with Saul. (He is not looking to God, but looking to Man for Deliverance now) This leads David into more trouble, by going to ENEMY camp (HIS IDEA) to do what he would believe would save his life from this jealous king. David realized this was BIG TROUBLE now, so he acted like a crazy man to be delivered from them. God Delivers him, and David flees to the cave, where he writes the 34th Psalm. Read Below.

Psalm 34 (King James Version)
Psalm 34
 I will bless the LORD at all times: his praise shall continually be in my mouth.
 My soul shall make her boast in the LORD: the humble shall hear thereof, and be glad.
 O magnify the LORD with me, and let us exalt his name together.
 I sought the LORD, and he heard me, and delivered me from all my fears.
 They looked unto him, and were lightened: and their faces were not ashamed.
 This poor man cried, and the LORD heard him, and saved him out of all his troubles.
 The angel of the LORD encampeth round about them that fear him, and delivereth them.
 O taste and see that the LORD is good: blessed is the man that trusteth in him.
 O fear the LORD, ye his saints: for there is no want to them that fear him.
 The young lions do lack, and suffer hunger: but they that seek the LORD shall not want any good thing.
 Come, ye children, hearken unto me: I will teach you the fear of the LORD.
 What man is he that desireth life, and loveth many days, that he may see good?
 Keep thy tongue from evil, and thy lips from speaking guile.
 Depart from evil, and do good; seek peace, and pursue it.
 The eyes of the LORD are upon the righteous, and his ears are open unto their cry.
 The face of the LORD is against them that do evil, to cut off the remembrance of them from the earth.
 The righteous cry, and the LORD heareth, and delivereth them out of all their troubles.
 The LORD is nigh unto them that are of a broken heart; and saveth such as be of a contrite spirit.
 Many are the afflictions of the righteous: but the LORD delivereth him out of them all.
 He keepeth all his bones: not one of them is broken.
 Evil shall slay the wicked: and they that hate the righteous shall be desolate.
 The LORD redeemeth the soul of his servants: and none of them that trust in him shall be desolate.

So, I hope this helps anyone who may be going through hard times, I know it truly does help me and I just felt burdened to share.

For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, saith the LORD.
Isaiah 55:8

Leave a comment